Back in 2013, Microsoft added a nifty Autosave feature to CRM 2013 during the Polaris or UR 12 release for CRM which is still here today in Microsoft Dynamics 365.

How does it work? Essentially you don’t have to manually save your work anymore! Instead, every 30 seconds after a field changes and if you’re still on the form, the record is automatically saved to the server. The only time you will ever need to manually save a record again is when you first create it! Afterward, you never have to click on any save button ever again.

Now you’re all wondering how one might add this Auto Save functionality to your Dynamics 365 CRM. Just follow these two simple steps:

  1. Go to the Dynamics 365 Menu and navigate to Settings > Administration > System Settings
  2. Under the General tab, on the first line, you will see “Enable autosave on all forms”. Check yes and autosave will be available in all the forms!

And that’s it!

While this feature could save you some time and possibly prevent you from losing work, it could also cause some problems depending on how your Dynamics CRM system is configured. The form saves every 30 seconds so it can cause plug-ins, workflows, or JavaScript to trigger when you may not want them to. Also, the out of the box Save buttons will no longer display on the form ribbon when autosave enabled. Instead, you’ll use that tiny save icon at the bottom right corner if you wish to manually save or hotkey it.

Consider these issues for your business users when you decide whether or not you want to enable the Autosave feature for Dynamics 365. And keep in mind you can always enable or disable it from the settings tab.

If you have any questions about the Autosave feature or Microsoft Dynamics CRM, please reach out to us by filling out the form below.